Rock And Roll Hall of Famer SLASH

Announced as the First “Guitar Legend Award” Recipient at the Gibson Brands AP MUSIC AWARDS,
Fueled by Monster Energy Drink

Watch the Star-Studded Red Carpet Coverage – Co-Hosted by Pro Wrestling Legend CM PUNK and The Voice’s Juliet Simms on AXS TV!

New Performance from FALLING IN REVERSE

New Special Appearances from New Found Glory, Mayday Parade, Pierce The Veil and many more! 


The Gibson Brands AP MUSIC AWARDS – Fueled by Monster Energy Drink –

Taking Place JULY 21, 2014 @ the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame and Museum in Cleveland, OH

Who do YOU Think Should Win? VOTE HERE:

Cleveland, OH — The Gibson Brands AP Music Awards, fueled by Monster Energy Drink, is pleased to announce a renowned addition to this year’s list of stellar award recipients. Iconic, GRAMMY-winning, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame guitarist Slash will be honored as the first recipient of the Guitar Legend Award presented by the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame. As one of the first covers for Alternative Press magazine, Slash continues to create and innovate as well as influence multiple generations of musicians on the guitar.

Slash Featuring Myles Kennedy and The Conspirators will release their new album World On Fire September 16 via Slash’s own label Dik Hayd International distributed through Caroline. Featuring the blazing title track as the newly released first single, the song has gone Top 15 at Active Rock in just 3 weeks, making it the fastest ascent into the Top 15 for Slash as a solo act. World On Fire marks Slash’s third solo album and second one with his band: Myles Kennedy (vocals), Brent Fitz (drums) and Todd Kerns (bass). Slash Featuring Myles Kennedy and The Conspirators will preview new songs for fans their nationwide summer tour with Aerosmith (with select solo dates) launching Thursday, July 10 at Nikon at Jones Beach Theatre in Wantagh, NY. For all dates and tour ticket packages, visit:

That’s not all: APMAs organizers have also confirmed the massively popular pop-metalcore band Falling In Reverse for a very special, one-time-only performance you’ll have to see to believe! On top of that, special appearances will be made by members of Pierce The Veil, New Found Glory and Mayday Parade, further cementing the APMAs as the premiere event of the summer.  Additional appearances are also confirmed for members of Attila, Bayside, Beartooth, the Devil Wears Prada, Echosmith, Less Than Jake, letlive., the Maine, Neck Deep, Sleepwave, We Are The In Crowd and the Word Alive.

The Gibson Brands AP Music Awards, fueled by Monster Energy Drink, will open with a star-studded red carpet located just outside the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame, kicking off at 5:00 p.m. This year’s presenters, performers, honorees and nominees will line the carpet for two full hours, ultimately making their way to the highlighted AXS TV red carpet pre-show area, co-hosted by new addition CM Punk and Automatic Loveletter frontwoman/The Voice season two runner-up Juliet Simms.

Wait, what? You heard right! Professional wrestling champion CM Punk has been officially added as a red carpet host at the APMAs! As a life-long music fan, CM Punk will be making one of his first public appearances since he stepped away from his many years in the squared circle. CM Punk will be joining co-host Juliet Simms to interview celebrities for the AXS TV red carpet pre-show extravaganza!

Here’s what CM Punk had to say about his new role: “Well, I’m actually stoked to get out of the house and get gussied up for the first-ever Gibson Brands AP Music Awards, fueled by Monster Energy Drink. Red carpets and me don’t mix, so I figure it’ll be a perfectly hilarious night with friends and a live microphone—my favorite! Be there and be square!”

The Gibson Brands AP Music Awards, fueled by Monster Energy Drink, will take place on July 21, 2014, held at the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame And Museum at North Coast Harbor in AP’s hometown of Cleveland. In its inaugural year, the APMAs will be hosted by six-time AP cover star Mark Hoppus (Blink-182) and will feature performances from A Day To Remember, All Time Low, Asking Alexandria, Fall Out Boy, Falling In Reverse, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts, Machine Gun Kelly, the Misfits, Sleeping With Sirens, twenty one pilots and Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco, with more to be announced.

In addition, special appearances will be made by Billy Corgan, Laura Jane Grace, Ice-T & Coco and Slash, plus members of Attlia, Bayside, Beartooth, Black Veil Brides, Chiodos, Crown The Empire, the Devil Wears Prada, Echosmith, Emmure, I See Stars, Issues, Korn, Less Than Jake, letlive., the Maine, Mayday Parade, Memphis May Fire, Miss May I, Motionless In White, Neck Deep, New Found Glory, Paramore, Pierce The Veil, Sleepwave, We Are The In Crowd, We Came As Romans, the Word Alive and Yellowcard,with more to be announced. Cleveland’s 115-piece Contemporary Youth Orchestra will be performing throughout the APMAs, both independently and through unique artist collaborations.

Tickets are on sale now for $69.99 which includes a ticket to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame And Museum to be used that same day and can be purchased online at Fans that purchase VIP and Monster Energy Drink ticket packages will be invited to a pre-show boat party on the Goodtimes III, located right behind the Rock Hall. The boat sets sail at 1:30 p.m. and will include performances by Issues, Ghost Town and Marmozets, three bands recently featured in AP’s 100 Bands You Need To Know In 2014 special edition issue.

In addition to covering broadcasting the red carpet pre-show, AXS TV will broadcast the award show itself, beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on July 21. and will feature footage from the official VIP boat party. Viewers can head to to watch exclusive behind-the-scenes videos and view photos, as well as take part in live polls and get involved on social media. Plus, fans can enter to win awesome prizes, such as a one-year subscription to Alternative Press Magazine, Gibson Brands guitars and merchandise, and Monster Energy Drink swag.

An official pre-party will take place on July 20th at the Scene Stage at the House of Blues in Cleveland, and will feature headliners Against Me! with supporting performances from Jenny Owen Youngs and Creepoid. Doors open at 7:00PM and the show begins at 8:00PM, with tickets for sale for only $18 in advance and $20 at the door! Tickets are on sale now via

Fifteen awards in total will be handed out at the APMAs, including Album Of The Year presented by Journeys, Artist Of The Year presented by Monster Energy Drink, Song of the Year presented by Epitaph Records, Best Guitarist presented by Gibson Brands, Best Drummer presented by DW Drums, Best Bassist presented by Dyin 2 Live, Best International Band presented by Zepeda Brothers Productions, Best Vocalist presented by Victory Records, Artist Philanthropic Award presented by SubCity/Take Action and Most Dedicated Fans presented by Fearless Records, along with an Icon Award presented by Blackstar Amps honoring Joan Jett and a Vanguard Award honoring Billy Corgan. Fans can cast their votes in 12 different categories at Voting ends July 15.

To view a full list of award categories and nominees, please visit Dawn Marshman and Joe Scarpelli.

Recent Posts

Weekly Tutorial